Coosa board

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

makomike1

Coosa board

Post by makomike1 »

Hello, I have a Bertram 28 replacing partially rotten bulkhead behind and in front of motors close to bottom of bilge.I am going to use coosa board. But I have never worked with this material before. Do I have to prep the coosa board before I fiberglass it to the good wood remaining?. Does the coosa board need a layer of glass to it before I attach it to good wood? Can I use fiberglass resein or west system ? Also what type of fiberglass would you recommend using, Matt or roving to tie into good wood? Thanks MakoMike
Navatech

Re: Coosa board

Post by Navatech »

makomike1 wrote:Can I use fiberglass resein or west system ?
West System is essentially an epoxy (two part) glue… Fiberglas resin isn't… In fact, unless you attach something to fiberglass resin that hasn't fully cured yet (i.e. it's still "green") you don't get good adhesion… For that reason alone I would recommend using the West System (or any of the other marine epoxies: System Three Epoxy, Silver Tip, Marinepoxy a.k.a. E-Poxy)…
CamB25

Post by CamB25 »

Sounds like you are planning to lap the coosa over the existing "good" wood? My approach: Use epoxy for the bond between the wood and coosa. Sand the interfaces with 80 grit. No need to glass the coosa at the bond. If you want to finish the visible surfaces, I would glass the coosa before installation using epoxy or poly, then tab the coosa panel to the hull and the remnants of the bulkheads. Pull a generous filet at the lap joints with thickened resin first and let it harden up for a few hours before you tab over with fiberglass. You probably do not need a heavy weight glass...it is not a structural joint?

Do you have pictures?
1963 Bertram 25
1973 Boston Whaler 13 - sold!
1998 Scout 172 SF - beach taxi
makomike1

Post by makomike1 »