1967 31 Bertram Questions

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Day Tripper

1967 31 Bertram Questions

Post by Day Tripper »

Hello All,

I am new to the Bertram 31 site. I find it helpful for my questions. However I have a few more.

I looking to buy a 1967 Bertram. The boat has not moved in about two years. The engins 454's have been started twice a week and have less than 200 hrs on both. They were replaced just before the present owner got sicked. The bottom was painted and has been cleaned on a regular basis since the boat stopped being used. The interior is old but clean. Will need to be replaced soon.

My questions are:
With two big block engines and Borg transmissions how much gas does it burn? I do not believe the present owner when he told me 15 gph at cruising speed. I figured it would be more like 25 to 30 gph.

How hard the the conversion to desiel power?

I was told that there were no blisters on the bottom and I will pull the boat before I buy it but do older Bertram have a tendancey to get blisters?

The deck in the bow seems to be a little weak, is the a common problem?

The restore the cabin, are there part available, or is it hard to find parts? I would like to use original but after market are ok.

What would a fair market price for this boat be. I do not have any pictures right now but I am just lookig for a ball park figure.

Thanks guys for any info and I hope to be part of the Bertram Family soon!

If I do become part of the Bertram family I will have a 20 foot Sharock for sale if anyone is interested.

Thanks for the help,

Mike
Tight Lines!!
Bruce
Site Admin

Post by Bruce »

Mike,
Welcome.
Big block burn can vary quite a bit. It depends on whether you decide to open the secondaries or not.
15gph burn without the secondaries opening is reasonable.

If they are throttle body or mpi engines then even better.

Crusing speed is an arbitrary figure. Some like to cruise at 22kts others like 28kts.