Copper exhaust gaskets for 454s?

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

John F.

Copper exhaust gaskets for 454s?

Post by John F. »

Read somewhere that copper exhaust gaskets should be used for marine stuff. Is that accurate? Thanks.
Bruce
Site Admin

Post by Bruce »

The only copper gaskets I've ever used were head gaskets.
randall

Post by randall »

ive been using the ones that come with the manifolds for 10 years. the instructions say dry but a mechanic friend said to coat em with "perfect seal" so i do......seems to work so far.
John F.

Post by John F. »

Bruce/Randall-

Thanks.

John
bob lico

Post by bob lico »

john what are you building? basicly have not used head gaskets in twenty years especially marine engines.we don`t use intake manifold bottom gaskets either.pro`s use "tubby" with no exceptions. never a leak if you don`t answer i will not explain, the subject may be off track but lets say this we do not use gaskets in a high performance or long endurane engine.
capt.bob lico
bero13010473
Kevin

Post by Kevin »

Bob,
I'm listening.
Getting ready to install custom turbo kit on my 88 mustang gt. I am reading that no header gaskets are to be used. None on the turbo flange either. stricltly copper RTV. The instructions explicitly say do not use copper header gaskets. I have been using the copper re-usable header gaskets for 10 years on my long tubes with out failure. What gives?
John F.

Post by John F. »

I'm not pulling the heads. I'm just replacing the exhaust manifolds--so it'd be the exhaust manifold gasket. I'm always willing to listen Bob. Thanks.
bob lico

Post by bob lico »