Dave Kosh's old boat "Can Do It" update

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Bfenske

Dave Kosh's old boat "Can Do It" update

Post by Bfenske »

I have not been on for a while but this past year I have been trying to learn the boat and fix things that are unsafe or non-functional. I am finally seeing some light at the end of the tunnel! I was a complete novice about what to do on a Bertram but I am slowly but surely getting more comfortable with the boat. I still have a few issues and thought i'd give an update and see if anyone had any thoughts on my pending issues. I have had the boat out for multiple "sea trial" runs out by Ft. Myers Beach but unfortunately only got it out once this year on an offshore trip. Looking to get the old "70 FBC" out at least 1/2 a dozen times in 2009. Here is the update.

1. Replaced alternators, belts and batteries.
2. installed on board automatic battery charger.
3. replaced 2 water pumps because of a faulty flushing valve
4. ripped out old engine flushing system and installed simpler one
5. replaced VHF radio
6. replaced port starter ignition switch.
7. replaced float switch on bilge
8. Added packing material to shaft packing gland
9. Changed oil and filters & fuel filters
10. Replaced transmission pressure sending unit

I'm guessing this is probably par for the course... but it just seemed like every time i was ready to head offshore, another problem happened that I needed to fix before heading out. Here are my pending issues

1. one of the rubber boots for my stuffing box (port) was worn and leaking so badly underneath, I had to cut a few inches of it off and re-secure it. It seemed like there was sufficent room to do this because the packing did not appear to be bottomed out. just wanted to know if this should work if the rest of the rubber is good. I have not yet tested it since we re-secured it. i was able to do this because the boat is on a boat lift.