Spray Gun

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

BlueChip

Spray Gun

Post by BlueChip »

For a few months now i have been rolling and tipping small sail boats/row boats. (side job to make some money to go into the "Boat Fund")... and finally i have my air compressor up and running.

Question # 1: For spraying hulls what is a good spray gun to get.

Question #2: Is there one where i can switch spray sizes for different types of projects.

Question # 3: What SCFM should i have minimum for painting....

Thanks

Chris
Restoring a 1973 Mako 20 . . B31 is next...when I find the cash

My Dad's 1966 B20 that i am working on .. (pre-BootStripe)
DRIFTER31

Post by DRIFTER31 »

I paint cars for a living and have done a Bertram with Imoron as well. I would buy the Devilbliss GTI gun. I use one every day and it is fine for just about all paints. When you buy it usually they come with different tips and spray nozzels. A 2.0 tip will shoot perfectly. One note is that ALL spray guns are HVLP now high volume [cfm] low pressure. The guns need to be used with a big bore[3/8] hose and big bore quick connect couplings or they will NOT flow correctly. As to the cfm....The Devilbliss paper work will tell you how much it uses. The GTI gun is gravity fed with the cup at the top. It uses neat ziplock bags to line the cup with so the cup is a breeze to keep clean. After shooting just disconnect the air,flip the gun upside down and press trigger to let remaining fluid in gun fall into the ziplock and just pull the bag out and throw away . The only paint in the gun will be a tiny bit at the very bottom. Whateveyou do stay away from Sharpe guns and the big bore hoses and fittings are a must.
Kill Em All ......Let God Sort Em Out
BlueChip

Post by BlueChip »

Any suggestions on where to get it.. i have found between 320 and 290$$ .. any place better?..

which model do you recomend...

Chris

CaptPatrick
Founder/Admin