Ankerplex

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Yannis

Ankerplex

Post by Yannis »

Does anyone have hands on experience with the Ankerplex anchor?
This anchor solves the storing problem of the second anchor. If it’s any good at what it does, that is.
1973 B28 FBC/2007 4LHA STP's - "Phantom Duck" - Hull "BER 00794 1172"
Carl

Re: Ankerplex

Post by Carl »

Interesting anchor...I like and may consider one of those as my spare/lunch hook. Although not a fan of having to assemble if in a rush, then again my spare/lunch hook is lighter with less chain so not the best backup but great for the beach or to just have if I ever had to cut the main off.

So to answer your question Yannis...No, I have no experience with it.
Yannis

Post by Yannis »

Haha, right to the point Carl!

No, I mean if you go out to lunch and you know you will need it, preassemble it!
Then, after its use, you can stow it anywhere.

It exists in alu and SS. I wonder which could be better. And better priced too.

I have the aluminum fortress as a spare, with thick 8mm, 3m chain, so Im not spending more money on another anchor.
This fortress is sometimes almost impossible to take up after it’s been dug in the sand. Super anchor. But takes up a lot of space on deck.
Carl

Post by Carl »

Yes the Danforth style anchor (Fortress) can dig in real good. Often I have to get right on top and cleat off letting the boat do the work of pulling it out. If rough I may go upstream to pull it out. Some of them ( may not be the Fortress) also have an option of shackling main line to back of anchor and zip tie or mono fishing line to main connection point...good for bottoms the anchor may foul in debris, rock etc. Just get on top and zip tie breaks off, and up she comes backwards. Of course you do not want that for overnight or to hold in a storm.