Thru-Hull Transducer replacing old one

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

scenarioL113

Thru-Hull Transducer replacing old one

Post by scenarioL113 »

I removed 2 thruhull transducers. One of them was not functional and the other one worked when it wanted to. With that said I am installing a new one for my Garmin unit.

Here are pics which show where the old ones were. I dont have too many choices but what does anyone have to say about installing the new one where one of these were.

I also will have to patch some holes which I have never done before so fell free with any tips or how to's.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ST8g6buWBA6bSTP98
https://photos.app.goo.gl/UbxThbpd3cnxsVKB9
https://photos.app.goo.gl/LeTiFkRVmBv1EpNm9
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Bk5yJE6aZXxduHCg7
https://photos.app.goo.gl/BFg59mJNm5qkcCPHA

Thx

Frank
1971 28 Bertram
4BT Cummins

Frank

9-11-01 NEVER FORGET
Rawleigh

Re: Thru-Hull Transducer replacing old one

Post by Rawleigh »

Mine are in the same place. I would just say to make the fairing block as thin as possible to minimize drag. Mine stick down farther than I would like.
Rawleigh
1966 FBC 31
Tony Meola

Post by Tony Meola »

Just go flush mount. You just have to have the nerve to drill a 4 inch hole in the boat.
1975 FBC BERG1467-315
scenarioL113

Post by scenarioL113 »

Tony
I looked at Capt Pats write up on it. I am not up to that task. I would like to do it that way but building the box inside the hull I think is just too much for me (especially with my skill level). I have a handful of pretty big other jobs to finish up in the next month.
1971 28 Bertram
4BT Cummins

Frank

9-11-01 NEVER FORGET
Tony Meola

Post by Tony Meola »

Airmar makes a mushroom style transducer. It sits flush to the hull. No need to build a box.

https://www.airmar.com/productdescription.html?id=11