Tight cutless bearings

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Lars

Tight cutless bearings

Post by Lars »

I just received new cutless bearings from Italy for the Riva B25. Unusual dimensions, so I had to get them from the Riva parts distributor. However, they are very tight and must be forced onto the shaft - leaving no play whatsoever. I believe there should be a minor clearance even when new, but the Riva guy claims bearings are good. He supplied both shafts and bearings.

This makes the shafts very hard to install and align. I'm new to shaft installations and need tips. Is it harmful to install tight cutless bearings? Any tricks to open up the bearings a fraction?
Yannis

Re: Tight cutless bearings

Post by Yannis »

Whats their diameter? Metric or inches?
1973 B28 FBC/2007 4LHA STP's - "Phantom Duck" - Hull "BER 00794 1172"
Carl

Post by Carl »

Yes there should be some clearance between shaft and bearing.

Some as in a sheet of papers worth or so.

Where bearings tight prior to installing in strut? If so, are you sure you have correct bearings. Some metric and inch sizes are close...but not close enough to be compatible.

If bearing slid nice on shaft prior to install...could set screws be too tight? Was bore of strut round. Did they collapse bearing on install.

Was shaft ok going in strut at first then as you got into the shaft log it got tighter...alignment could be off...bent/twisted strut.

Next...was any petroleum product used on the rubber cutless. Rubber in the cutlass can swell and turn hard if contaminated with oil products.
Bruce
Site Admin

Post by Bruce »

Cutlass bearings are tight in the strut but should slide on the shaft with very little effort.
Lars

Post by Lars »

Thanks, you are confirming what I expected.