Replacing core: nidacore question

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

JH_B28

Replacing core: nidacore question

Post by JH_B28 »

Hi guys,

I'm in the process of replacing the wood core from my b28 cockpit deck and engine lid covers. For the cockpit deck, I will be using 3/4" h-80 divynicell epoxied to existing skin and laminated with 2 layers of 1708 (need it to support a lot of weight). For the engine covers, I have some extra nidacore sheets that I was thinking of using but I have never used it before and have some questions on how to bond them to the existing skin:

1) what is the best way to bond the nidacore sheet to the existing FG skin? Should I prime the scrim with resin, laminate a layer of glass, wait until it dries and then bond with thickened epoxy? Or, just wet the scrim with unthickened epoxy and bond to skin (with weights on top).

2) for both cores, nidacore or divinycell, I know the resin that should be used to bond the core to the existing skin is epoxy. Can I use epoxy for bonding and then use poly resin to laminate the whole assembly? ( thickened epoxy to bond, then 2 layers of 1708 with polyester resin over the core) To reduce resin costs a bit. I was told both cores are compatible with both resins.

Many thanks in advance,

-G
Jorge E.
1973 Bertram 28'
Yanmar 4LH-STE's
JH_B28

Re: Replacing core: nidacore question

Post by JH_B28 »

Anyone?

Just did one of the floor lids with 1/2" nida core, 2 layers of 1708 on each side and it is very stiff! I didn't think it would work out so well.

Here's a pic of the floor layout I am building with the big fish boxes on each side.

Jorge E.
1973 Bertram 28'
Yanmar 4LH-STE's
Kevin

Post by Kevin »

http://bertram31.com/newbb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10129

I don't know anything about that product. Looks like you have a massive project going though.