Another AC question, where to locate the cooling outflow?

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Dug

Another AC question, where to locate the cooling outflow?

Post by Dug »

I am installing the through hulls myself. Not the first time I have done this stuff.

Here is what is being proposed so far.

Install the ac unit itself in the cabinetry behind the refrigerator. This makes sense to me.

Per Captain Patrick, the intake will be between the engines, as close to the centerline as possible.

It has been recommended that I put the outflow further back on the boat, to say, the engine compartment, so I can look down from the bridge if necessary and see the water is flowing. I might not be able to do this if it is further forward under say the sink area.

Does this make sense? Others who have ac, where is your ac outflow? I appreciate your answers in advance!!! I am a complete ac newbie, but am tired of steaming in the heat of summer. I know, I know, toughen up, right? ;)

Thank you!!

Dug
TailhookTom

Re: Another AC question, where to locate the cooling outflow

Post by TailhookTom »

Dug:

If it was me, I'd get one of those beer can type hats and modify it so the flow of cooling water could be felt across the top of my bald, hot, head.

BTW, keep in mind I've been reading the technical issues surrounding the credit the State of Washington gives with respect to the Hazardous Substance and Petroleum Product Tax for taxes paid in other states -- but our crackerjack sales force doesn't feel I need to know which product it is that we sell to the customer who is being audited in Washington State for the tax in question. Cold fusion would require less.

Tom
Last edited by TailhookTom on Apr 2nd, '13, 15:30, edited 1 time in total.
Ed Curry

Post by Ed Curry »