Exhaust Heat wrap

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Rick Kral

Exhaust Heat wrap

Post by Rick Kral »

I am building a custom exhaust for both my diesel engines. I was hopeful one of the engine savy faithful had some input/experience on the best exhaust wrap system to use around the exhaust pipe prior to the shower head. I have a couple of 90 degree bends and obviously a tight fit under the engine hatch.
Thanks,
Rick Kral
Kevin

Re: Exhaust Heat wrap

Post by Kevin »

Rick,
I am familiar with the rolls of heat wrap since I have done the turbo exhaust on my car. I would think you could use the same wrap with stainless wire ties to hold it in place. The stuff is fairly easy to work with. I have never messed with it on the diesels. You can just about touch turbos on the boat when they are running without the wrap. I can hold my hand on the turbo down pipe while running on the car with the wrap on it so the stuff works very well. Hope this helps.
CaptPatrick
Founder/Admin
Location: 834 Scott Dr., LLANO, TX 78643 - 325.248.0809 bertram31@bertram31.com

Post by CaptPatrick »

Rick,

The two principle componebts are the thermal wrap and the thermal wrap coating. The over all thickness needs to be at least 3/4" thick and I've seen it built up as thick as 2". Naturally, the thicker the build up the lower the exposed surface temerature will be. The thermal coat is 2" wide x 1/16" thick, so that's 12 wraps for 3/4" finished thickness. By my calculations, you'll need at least 25' of the thermal wrap to do a 10" section of 6" pipe at 3/4" thickness. that's 2.5' per 1 linear inch of exhaust pipe.

Here's a couple of sources to begin your material search:

Thermal wrap 2" x 1'16" x 50'

Thermo-Tec 12001 Exhaust Coating

Br,

Patrick

Molon labe
Tony Meola

Post by Tony Meola »

Capt. Pat