Calling IRGuy

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Tommy

Calling IRGuy

Post by Tommy »

Hi Frank,

Saw on the "Paint Scheme" thread where you sanded a bad paint job off your B-33, but I didn't want to hijack that thread. What tips would you offer for removing paint from a Bertram hull? My assumption is a lot of elbow grease using orbital palm sanders, but we'd like to benefit from your learning curve (my brother has a B-20 Sportsmanfacing the same issue).

Thanks!
IRGuy

Post by IRGuy »

Tommy...

I am preparing an answer for you offline.. will post it in a day or two.
Frank B
1983 Bertram 33 FBC "Phoenix"
--------------
Trump lied! Washington DC isn't a swamp.. it is a cesspool!
Tommy

Post by Tommy »

Thanks Frank; I'm sure it was no easy job.

TD
IRGuy

Post by IRGuy »

With all due respect to Captain Patrick and everyone else here who works on boats for a living I humbly answer Tommy’s post. I am an amateur who is not afraid to accept challenges, and I find I pretty much learn as I go along making mistakes, so I know I work inefficiently, while you have to work as efficiently as possible so you can be profitable. Please feel free to criticize my comments… for everybody’s benefit. Also, I am offering herein my own techniques, which are what I developed as I went along. I had good advice and a rather steep learning curve. Others might question how I did things or have better techniques to offer.. I am only saying here what I did personally.

This information has been prepared to be used as part of an overall writeup on the rebuild of my B33 FBC “Phoenix” for the B33 forum’s Owner Tips section, and as such might appear too “wordy” or oversimplified for some readers, but I have tried to make things very clear so someone with no prior experience in yacht refinishing can do the pre painting prep work as I did.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tommy...