ISLAND GIRL: Good News / Bad News

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Tommy

ISLAND GIRL: Good News / Bad News

Post by Tommy »

Bad news: After a great 9-year run with Island Girl, my brother and I are parting company with her. From the time we took her from Jim Bailey in 2000 and shipped her down to Patrick and Bruce for the repower, we have had nothing but good service and good times with her and with all you folks here on the Board, at the FLL Show and the NC Rendezvous. It was only because of lack of use that I decided to let her go. I'm doing more shallow-water boating now, running the shoals off Cape Lookout and the shallow sound waters between Morehead City and Ocracoke Island.

Good news: Island Girl could not be going to a better steward than James, a yacht broker in Monte Carlo, Monaco. Although a broker by trade, James wanted a clean SF model with a functioning lower station as his personal boat for day-cruising in the Mediterrannean. James and his father spent the last three days with my brother, Eddy, and me, and we had a blast. James and Charles are two of the nicest folks that I have ever met, and it dampens the loss just knowing that Island Girl is in great hands.

So guys, I'll still be a regular on the Board; and keep your eyes out for a great looking B-31 SF the next time you are slumming in Monaco!

Tommy
jackryan

Post by jackryan »

Tommy,

Sorry you have to part ways with Island Girl. What a beauty. I'm sure it was a hard decision after all of the effort to re power etc... Just from a purely selfish standpoint, I hate seeing such a beautiful boat go overseas. It makes one less of these great boats that I'll come across (buy someday) stateside. Maybe she'll be for sale when I retire in Monaco. (yea right)

JR
Dug

Post by Dug »

Tommy,

I am glad you found a good home for her. I am sorry she is going, but I do understand.

Good luck! And you are expected to stick around!!! :)
bertramsupermex