Sharrow Propeller Thread

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

CamB25

Sharrow Propeller Thread

Post by CamB25 »

Here's a thread to discuss the Sharrow Marine technologies.

https://sharrowmarine.com/

Caveat: This is new technology and expensive. The technology is just starting it's journey along the adoption S-curve, so if you are interested in monetary return on investment, you'll have to wait until this technology is in mass production. The MX props are about $5k right now.

I've been working with Sharrow since early 2023 testing a number props and prop diffuser configurations on my B25. My application engineer and the company as a whole have been great to work with provided you have some patience to wait for new props to exit the manufacturing process. These are the MX props for outboards. I see they have teamed with VEEM for inboard applications which is a great sign that this prop design has a future.

My starting point for this "experiment" was what I consider an optimized traditional prop for my boat/engine. I was running a Mercury Enertia Eco 16 x18. Big diameter, big blade area...well matched to the torque of the Evinrude G2 300. Cruise comfortably at 4000 rpm, 30 mph, 3.0 mpg. Up on plane quickly, top end about 43mph. All good. The Sharrow prop is better (yes, the enemy of your wallet is better).

The Sharrow I'm now running full-time yields:
- lower cruise speeds. I can cruise, comfortably on plane, in the low 20 knot range. Great for my cocktail cruises.
- lower rpm per mph. 30mph comes at 3700 or so now.
- launches onto plane. quicker. These props have a HUGE amount of stern lift. No more bow in the sky, it lifts from the stern. Scary at high speeds as a result. Skip the trim tabs.
- top speed is the same as before, but at higher rpm. 5600 versus 5300. The effect is is a wider cruise range, effectively from 3700 - 5000.