Gas Powered boats 3 blade vs 4 blade

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

trace elements

Gas Powered boats 3 blade vs 4 blade

Post by trace elements »

I am looking at putting a pair of Acme props on my boat to improve the slip numbers. I currently am powered by 454s with 1.5 gears and 18x19 michigan propellers. I calculated a slip percentage of 25% at cruise.

I know all of the old adages of 3 vs 4 blade, what are everyones thoughts on 3 vs 4 blade on gas boats?

I am looking at Acme 18x18 3 blades or Acme 17x18 4 blades, which would you choose?
Tony Meola

Re: Gas Powered boats 3 blade vs 4 blade

Post by Tony Meola »

I am not a prop guy, Carl is better at that, but if you run 3 or 4 blade why change the size of the prop. I can understand pitch and cup, but I would think the diameter remain the same.

If you are not running Nibral props, I would include that in your calculations also. Props flex less with Nibral.

3 Blade props will give you a higher top end, while 4 blade should give you a little better cruise speed with a lower top end speed.
1975 FBC BERG1467-315
trace elements

Post by trace elements »

Thanks, Tony.

As I understand it, the 4 blades have more blade area and therefore more drag requiring a reduction in prop size to maintain correct RPMs. Same thing with the larger DAR props like ACME. Increased drag requires a reduction in pitch or diameter to keep up RPMs.
Carl

Post by Carl »

First I would not consider going down in diameter to offset the extra surface area of a 4th blade. A larger diameter provides less slip, think of wider tires for more traction on a car. If going to 4 blade, reducing the pitch or cup would be my instinct.

Next, I'd ask what are you trying to accomplish. Yes, I read reducing the slippage as your intent, but to gain what in it's place? Economy? Speed? If speed top end or at cruise?

Tony is right, nibral can add some performance, at the cost of cost.