Yanmar 6lpa 0 oil pressure

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

micky

Yanmar 6lpa 0 oil pressure

Post by micky »

I have 2 Yanmar 6lpa-dtp. Both were repaired to 0 hours. Started them up on friday for the first time and noticed one of them had low oil pressure (19 psi cold), gauges are mechanical. In the afternoon it went up to 40 psi.Yesterday it was at 12 psi so I let the mechanic that repaired them know. Went today to the boat and tested the engine with 2 additional mechanical gauges and the pressure was 0.

What can be the cause of this? Oil pump?
micky

Re: Yanmar 6lpa 0 oil pressure

Post by micky »

Yesterday:

Today:

Amberjack

Post by Amberjack »

Micky-I'm not a mechanic but I've had Yanmar 6LP's for 18 years and never heard of this issue. Until someone more mechanically on the Forum replies here are my thoughts. It sounds as though you're starting from a complete rebuild and this will be the first run. Are you sure you have enough oil in the pan? That's the easiest first step. Should be 10.5 liters. The dip sticks on these engines are difficult to get a good read. Pull it out, wipe it and reinsert leaving it about an inch high for 10-15 minutes. Then insert completely and check. The dipstick cap apparently causes a seal which prevents oil from registering in the tube unless the cap is cocked open.

It really sounds like this is an oil pump issue and if you're lucky the drive train is somehow not connected. Or the pickup from the sump to the oil pump was not re-installed after the rebuild. Either makes sense if the engine was partially disasembled and put back together again. My layman's thoughts. I'd be reluctant to turn it over any more without resolving the issue.
Doug Pratt
Bertram 31 Amberjack
FBC hull #315-820
Bruce
Site Admin

Post by Bruce »

What was done to the engines?
micky

Post by micky »